Thunder Over Louisville

My first year in Louisville I was aware that Thunder Over Louisville was a local fireworks display over the Ohio River, but that’s all I knew or understood about the production. I wouldn’t make any extra effort or plans to witness the event because I presumed it was no different than any other Fourth of July or New Year’s pyro-technic display. “If you’ve seen one, you’ve seen em’ all.”
 

It was purely coincidental that my wife and I were driving downtown on our way to eat someplace near Baxter Ave and Bardstown Rd, just 30 minutes before the show’s start. I began debating my apathy as I noticed people walking towards the river. After all, we were already out, we wouldn’t need to wait, and we were practically already there.
 
Eventually, we agreed to pull over and make the hike to the waterfront, which turned out to be considerably farther than we anticipated. Fireworks were already striking the air over the downtown buildings as we quickened our pace to find a better vantage. We ended up at the back of the crowd watching from Waterfront Park.
 
I didn’t realize then that it was a thirty minute show with non-stop excitement lighting up the sky from three launch sites, including the entire Second Street bridge and two additional floating barges. Music consumed the space in surround-sound, inciting young kids and teenagers to dance on the grass and jump with every firework explosion. I was enamored by the sense of community – the way tens of thousands of people, if not hundreds of thousands, came together to watch, listen, and dance.
 
When the last spark faded into memory, I could say without reservation this show was like no other: the number of people collected riverside, the length and duration of the fireworks, the beauty of the lights mirrored against the river, the glowing smoke from the thousands of sky-high explosions, the towering skyline of the city… and the finale. Oh, the finale! A waterfall of light! 
 
Indeed, nothing is quite like Thunder Over Louisville.
 
Here are my Top 10 Instagram photos from Thunder 2015…
 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A NOTE FROM THE AUTHOR: Hello! My name is Jeremiah Butts and my intent is to use this blog to celebrate the people, businesses, events, and homes that live “inside the Watterson.” There is so much to celebrate in this little pocket of the world! I’m also a Realtor with Kentucky Select Properties happily helping buyers and sellers moving “inside the Watterson,” neighborhoods such as (but not limited to) the Highlands, Crescent Hill, St Matthews, Clifton, Germantown, Nulu, Downtown, Old Louisville, Indian Hills, Clifton Heights, Audubon Park, Rolling Fields, Mockingbird Valley, Seneca Gardens, and Cherokee Gardens.

Search HOMES FOR SALE and OPEN HOUSES inside the Watterson.

Leave a Reply

